Department of Neurology

Neurology concerns itself with the diseases of brain, spinal cord, peripheral nerves and muscles. An introduction to the anatomy and physiology of the nervous system is presented in the first-year neuroscience course by faculty from the Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology, with participation of faculty from the Department of Neurology. A first-year selective titled Clinical Correlations in Neuroscience is available, which is an opportunity for interested students to shadow physicians in neuro-related fields and attend basic science or clinical conferences. Another first-year selective titled Alzheimer’s Disease (AD) in the Clinic and the Lab is also available, which is an opportunity for interested students to get an overview of the most exciting areas of AD clinical and science research. In the second year, the Department of Neurology presents the course Diseases of the Nervous System in conjunction with the Departments of Pathology and Immunology, Neurological Surgery and Ophthalmology. The course emphasizes the pathophysiology, pathology, clinical manifestations and treatment of the major neurological and neurosurgical diseases. The department also participates in the Practice of Medicine course, providing lectures, demonstrations and teaching exercises with patients in neurological physical diagnosis.

In the third year, a four-week clerkship in Neurology introduces students to the clinical care of patients with diseases of the nervous system. Questions pertaining to neurosurgical treatment, neurorehabilitation and ethical issues in management also are addressed. In the fourth year, opportunities exist for many varieties of advanced clinical or research experience. A four-year residency program prepares medical graduates for specialization in neurology. Subspecialty fellowship programs routinely provide additional training in dementia, epilepsy, electrophysiology, electromyography, sleep medicine, cerebrovascular disease and stroke, neuroimmunology, neurological critical care, neuromuscular disease, neuropsychology and movement disorders.

Thirteen divisions and sections are in the department including the Division of Adult Neurology, the Division of Pediatric and Developmental Neurology and the Division of Neurorehabilitation. See for details.

Division of Neuropsychology: Steven Petersen, PhD (division director); Francis Miezin, BS, MS; Bradley Schlaggar, MD, PhD; Gordon Shulman, PhD

Division of Neurorehabilitation: Maurizio Corbetta, MD (division director); David Brody, MD, PhD; Alex Carter, MD, PhD; Robert Fucetola, PhD; Thy Huskey, MD; Sindhu Jacob, MD; Neringa Juknis, MD; Rimma Ruvinskaya, MD; Nicole Werner, PhD; Oksana Volshteyn, MD; Martin Wice, MD

Division of Pediatric and Developmental Neurology: Bradley Schlaggar, MD, PhD (division director); Michael Noetzel, MD (division associate director); Mary Bertrand, MD; Janice Brunstrom, MD; Anne Connolly, MD; Edwin Dodson, MD; Nico Dosenbach, MD, PhD; Rafael Galindo, MD, PhD; Paul Golumbek, MD, PhD; Christina Gurnett, MD, PhD; Kristin Guilliums, MD; David Gutmann, MD; Siddharth Jain, MD; Douglas Larsen, MD; Amy Licis, MD; Soe Mar, MD; Bryan McGill, MD, PhD; Arthur Prensky, MD; Robin Ryther, MD, PhD; Christopher Smyser, MD; Liu Lin Thio, MD, PhD; Jean Thurston, MD; Amy Viehoever, MD, PhD; Judy Weisenberg, MD; Michael Wong, MD, PhD; Kelvin Yamada, MD; John Zempel, MD, PhD; Craig Zaidman, MD

Aging and Dementia Section: John Morris, MD (section head); Randall Bateman, MD; Virginia Buckles, PhD; Nigel J. Cairns, PhD, FRC Path; David Carr, MD; John Cirrito, PhD; Anne Fagan, PhD; Nupur Ghoshal, MD, PhD; Jason Hassenstab, PhD; David Holtzman, MD (department chair); Terri Hosto, MSW; Eugene Johnson, Jr., PhD; Krista Moulder, PhD; Erik Musiek, MD, PhD; Catherine Roe, PhD; Davis Ryman, MD, PhD; Suzanne Schindler, MD, PhD; B. Joy Snider, MD, PhD

Hope Center for Neurological Disorders (specifically those faculty in the Department of Neurology): Alison Goate, D.Phil (director); Beau Ances, MD, PhD; Randall Bateman, MD; David Brody, MD, PhD; Janice Brunstrom, MD; Nigel Cairns, PhD; FRCPath, John Cirrito, PhD; Anne Cross, MD; Marc Diamond, MD; Anne Fagan Niven, PhD; Christina Gurnett, MD, PhD; Matthew Harms, MD; David Holtzman, MD (department chairman); Mark Jacquin, PhD; Eugene Johnson Jr., PhD; Paul Kotzbauer, MD, PhD; Terrance Kummer, MD, PhD; Jin-Moo Lee, MD, PhD; Mingjie Li, PhD; Timothy Miller, MD, PhD; John Morris, MD; Erik Musiek, MD, PhD; Joel Perlmutter, MD; Alan Pestronk, MD; Steve Petersen, PhD; Laura Piccio, MD, PhD; Anneliese Schaefer, PhD (executive director); Bradley Schlaggar, MD; B. Joy Snider, MD, PhD; Liu-Lin Thio, MD, PhD; Conrad Chris Weihl, MD, PhD; Michael Wong, MD, PhD; Gregory Wu, MD, PhD; Kelvin Yamada, MD

Cerebrovascular Disease Section: Jin-Moo Lee, MD, PhD (section head); David Carpenter, MD; Amar Dhand, MD; Andria Ford, MD; Kristin Guilliams, MD; Salah Keyrouz, MD; Renee Van Stavern, MD; Allyson Zazulia, MD

Clinical Neurophysiology Section: Muhammad Al-Lozi, MD, Edward Hogan, MD (section heads); Mary Bertrand, MD; Anne Connolly, MD; Keith Day, MD, PhD; Lawrence Eisenman, MD, PhD; Christina Gurnett, MD, PhD; Amy Licis, MD; Glenn Lopate, MD; Luigi Maccotta, MD, PhD; Samiya Rashid, DO; Liu Lin Thio, MD, PhD; Judy Weisenberg, MD; Michael Wong, MD, PhD; Kelvin Yamada, MD; John Zempel, MD, PhD

Pediatric Epilepsy and Sleep Section: Liu Lin Thio, MD, PhD (section co-head); Kelvin Yamada, MD (section co-head); Mary Bertrand, MD; Christina Gurnett, MD, PhD; Jean Holowach-Thurston, MD; Siddharth Jain, MD; Amy Licis, MD; Robin Ryther, MD, PhD; Judy Weisenberg, MD; Michael Wong, MD, PhD; John Zempel, MD, PhD

Adult Epilepsy Section: Edward Hogan, MD (section heard); Keith Day, MD, PhD; Laurence Eisenman, MD, PhD; Yuan Fan, MD, PhD; Luigi Maccotta, MD, PhD

Neuroimaging Section: Beau Ances, MD; Kevin Black, MD; Maurizio Corbetta, MD; Colin Derdeyn, MD; Morvarid Karimi, MD; Francis Miezin, MS; Scott Norris, MD; Joel Perlmutter, MD; Steven Petersen, PhD; Bradley Schlaggar, MD, PhD; Gordon Shulman, PhD; Mwiza Ushe, MD; Allyson Zazulia, MD

Neuroinfectious Disease Section: David Clifford, MD (section head); Beau Ances, MD
Neurofibromatosis and Neuro-Oncology: David Gutmann, MD, PhD

Movement Disorders Section: Joel Perlmutter, MD (section head); Kevin Black, MD; Meghan Campbell, PhD; Susan Criswell, MD; Marc Diamond, MD; Gammon Earhart, PhD; Erin Foster, OTD; Johanna Hartlein, APRN; Tamara Hershey, PhD; Morvarid Karimi, MD; Paul Kotzbauer, MD, PhD; Scott Norris, MD; Brad Racette, MD; Bradley Schlaggar, MD, PhD; LinLin Tian, MD, PhD; Mwiza Ushe, MD; Amy Viehoever, MD, PhD; Brenton Wright, MD

Neuroimmunology Section: Anne Cross, MD (section head); Becky Parks, MD; Robert Naismith, MD; Laura Piccio, MD, PhD; Gregory Wu, MD

Neurological Critical Care Section: Michael Diringer, MD (section head-NNICU); Salah Keyrouz, MD (Medical Director, NNICU); Rajat Dhar, MD; Terrance Kummer, MD; Michael Rubin, MD

Neuromuscular Diseases Section: Alan Pestronk, MD (section head); Muhammad Al-Lozi, MD; Robert Bucelli, MD, PhD; Anne Connolly, MD; Julaine Florence, PT, DPT; Paul Golumbek, MD, PhD; Matthew Harms, MD, Glenn Lopate, MD; Timothy Miller, MD, PhD; Brian Sommerville, MD; Arun Varadhachary, MD, PhD; Chris Weihl, MD, PhD; Craig Zaidman, MD

Sleep Section: Kelvin Yamada, MD (section head); Gabriela de Bruin, MD; Yo-El Ju, MD; Amy Licis, MD; Rachel Darken, MD, PhD; Brendan Lucey, MD; Terri Riutcel, MD; Luqi Chi, MD

General Neurology Section: General Neurology Section: Sylvia Awadalla, MD (section head); William Landau, MD (Emeritus); Robert Bucelli, MD, PhD; Rachel Darken, MD, PhD; Gabriela de Bruin, MD;  Arun Varadhachary, MD, PhD

For more information

Please visit the Department of Neurology website for more information.